The Lowrider Game
http://www.thelowridergame.com/forum/

druid whats up with the tournaments
http://www.thelowridergame.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=626
Page 1 of 1

Author:  dpp366 [ Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:30 am ]
Post subject:  druid whats up with the tournaments

the blu been sitting the same way for almost a week and all the hops are done but in says pending . :shrug:

Author:  druid [ Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:22 am ]
Post subject: 

Looks like somethings broke it. I'll take a look and let you know when it's working.

Author:  druid [ Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:51 am ]
Post subject: 

I thought I fixed these tournaments the other night. Try it again and let me know if you see it happened again. I enabled logging on that script so hopefully that gives me more info next time.

Author:  druid [ Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:27 am ]
Post subject: 

I created a test tournament and tested it a bunch of different ways and I couldn't reproduce the problem. Hopefully it won't happen again.

Author:  dpp366 [ Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:03 am ]
Post subject: 

its doing it again it says done for both players but it still says pending. its in the kos sp one

Author:  druid [ Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:01 pm ]
Post subject: 

Mykhayl gave up. It will be recorded and the next person will be moved up the next time he logs in.

Author:  dpp366 [ Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:41 am ]
Post subject: 

druid whats ups with it again show me what you got tournament just checked and it say i gave up and i did not hit no curb or car i hit 78 plus and it say i gave up damn. i guess i am done with tournaments this happens to much i dont mind getting out hopped but he has not even hopped yet and i am out .that sucks :shrug: :shrug: :shrug: :shrug: :shrug:

Author:  druid [ Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:18 am ]
Post subject: 

Let me explain what happens, I haven't brought this up for a while because I didn't want to reveal so much info on the game.

So this is what happens when you go into a challenge.

When you start the hop it automatically records your score as Give Up. (There is a reason for this. I'll get to it right now)
As you hop your score is save within the game then when the hop is over the game will automatically send the score to the server, which overwrites the GIVE UP Score.
The reason why it is done like this is because at one point I noticed alot of people would quit before they finished the hop and just try again. (This isn't really fair)
The game can't tell when you close your browser which is why I had to make it work this way.
When you get a Give Up score there are no penalties. You won't lose your car and you will not get a loss. (I figured this was fair, but this works the same for tournaments)

Now the cause of this from my experience is that at the end of the game after the hop the computer does not load the final script and tell my server to save the new score. This can be caused by a slot internet connection, computer, or bad browser (Errors).
Unfortunately because this is a problem from the user's computer. I can't do anything to fix it... The game works fine, but it depends on the person's computer to send the right request.

Author:  dpp366 [ Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

druid wrote:
Let me explain what happens, I haven't brought this up for a while because I didn't want to reveal so much info on the game.

So this is what happens when you go into a challenge.

When you start the hop it automatically records your score as Give Up. (There is a reason for this. I'll get to it right now)
As you hop your score is save within the game then when the hop is over the game will automatically send the score to the server, which overwrites the GIVE UP Score.
The reason why it is done like this is because at one point I noticed alot of people would quit before they finished the hop and just try again. (This isn't really fair)
The game can't tell when you close your browser which is why I had to make it work this way.
When you get a Give Up score there are no penalties. You won't lose your car and you will not get a loss. (I figured this was fair, but this works the same for tournaments)

Now the cause of this from my experience is that at the end of the game after the hop the computer does not load the final script and tell my server to save the new score. This can be caused by a slot internet connection, computer, or bad browser (Errors).
Unfortunately because this is a problem from the user's computer. I can't do anything to fix it... The game works fine, but it depends on the person's computer to send the right request.

druid please help me with this one . a computer only does what it is told to do or programed to so how can the problem be in one s computer.the game is downloaded and the computer will only do or play within the confinements of the game. there for it will only record what is told to record. for example i can not add weight or cheat because the game does not allow this its not in the program of the game .so if i understand computers i mean i only build them for the last 10 years.so the problem is actually in the game program, it is not excepting the score as it should there must be a glitch in the program some where.in other words the game must tell the cpu to send the right request. so that it records the right info. the cpu will not just decide to send info if it is not told or in this case programed to send by the game which is the program that tells the cpu what to send.for this game site. not trying to tell you how to run your site just trying to understsnd the statement completely . thanks

Author:  druid [ Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:44 pm ]
Post subject: 

The game is always programmed to send. This is logged and the game will tell your browser to talk to our servers. If it wasn't it would't work at all 100%.

Example:
If you try to go to google.com you have told your browser to go to google.com, but for some reason the page doesn't come up.... That is the same thing that is happening to the game from what I see on the logs.

The weight and functionality in the game is separate then the request it sends to the server. The game can only tell your browser to send the score. If there was an error with the information being sent I would see that and I would not have brought this subject up.

Author:  dpp366 [ Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:59 pm ]
Post subject: 

okay so are you saying that the problem as you see it is the browser Firefox did not make the right request to the sever that the game is on and there for we get and error which could be all sorts of things am i getting close to what you are saying. thanks for your time. :lmao: :lmao:

Author:  druid [ Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:08 pm ]
Post subject: 

1. The game ends. (This is Logged)
2. The game tells the browser to go to a script and gives it the score. (This is Logged)
3. At this point the browser should be bringing up the script.(You don't see this because it happens in the background)
4. The server never received the script. (From what I see on the server end)

I will see if there is anything else I can do for this. Maybe I'll give people 2 chances to try so if it doesn't save the score or somebody quits out early then they will have one more chance to try it again.

Author:  dpp366 [ Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

that might just work and i got it now . so if you were to give to chances . it would only give a second chance if the first does not record. and if give up comes on # 2 azz out right . thats sounds fair. :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

Author:  certified ridaz [ Sun May 04, 2008 3:30 am ]
Post subject: 

druid tournament stuck . both hops say done but know reults please help. in the THERE CAN ONLY BE ONE

Author:  HOTTA THEN FISH GREASE [ Mon May 05, 2008 11:56 am ]
Post subject: 

:shrug: :shrug: :shrug:

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/